Michael Hopkins

Sir Michael John Hopkins (born May 7, 1935 in Poole, Dorset) is a British architect. He is considered, along with Norman Foster, Richard Rogers, Nicholas Grimshaw and Terry Farrell, to be a leading exponent of high-tech architecture in the United Kingdom.

Michael Hopkins
Michael Hopkins


Hopkins attended Sherborne School and studied architecture at the Architectural Association. He then worked for architect Frederick Gibberd and subsequently became a partner with Norman Foster. Among other things, he was then architect of the Willis Faber headquarters in Ipswich.

In 1976 he founded his own architectural practice, Hopkins Architects. A partner in his practice was his wife Patricia (Patty) Hopkins, also an architect. They used new materials and construction techniques and stood for lightweight steel and glass structures and tent roofs. They showed that these could be built to be energy efficient. The first thing they designed was their own house made of steel and glass in minimalist architecture. This was often followed by industrial buildings such as the Schlumberger Research Center in Cambridge. From the 1980s, they mixed these with traditional building materials such as wood and masonry, the first of the British high-tech architects. Typical examples were the new Mound Stand at Lord's Cricket Ground, which used the old facade, and Bracken House in the City of London, which was built around the old premises of the Financial Times printing presses, the new opera house at Glyndebourne and the Queen's Building at Emmanuel College in Cambridge. He was architect of Ade's Olympic Velodrome in London and Kroon Hall at Yale.

He is a Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) and was knighted Bachelor in 1995. In 1992, he became a member of the Royal Academy of Arts. With his wife, he received the Royal Gold Medal of the Royal Institute of British Architects in 1994. representatives of this style include British architects such as Norman Foster (1935), Richard Rogers (1933) or Michael Hopkins (1935), the American architect Buckminster Fuller (1895-1983), the Italian architect Renzo Piano (1937), the Japanese architect Toyo Ito (1941), the French architect Jean Nouvel (1945), the Dutch architect Rem Koolhaas (1944) and the Spanish architect Santiago Calatrava (1951), who is known for his functional, organic-futuristic designs.


Visit our media section for a complete overview.


High-Tech Architecture
Michael Hopkins
Norman Foster
Richard Rogers
Structural Expressionism


DeepDove: Style Network (2021-09-21). Structural Expressionism | Michael Hopkins. Retrieved , from




This page was last changed on 2021-09-21.